Tags

, , , , , ,

It’s been a long time since I’ve had the opportunity to do any sort of live sitting portraiture.  Most folks haven’t the patience or the time to sit for however long [in multiple sittings] it can take to complete a fine art portrait, so I usually have to resort to a couple of quick live sketches and scores of photographs.  This one was done during a life drawing session last week at Hipbone Studio:

Jennifer

"Jennifer"

The time for this piece was about 45 minutes.  Because I don’t want to leave my groove to sharpen a point or swap out pencils, my preferred tool for life drawings is the *woodless pencil.  I’ve tried pastels and charcoal, but the dust makes me sneeze like crazy.

And while my collectors love knowing that I put blood, sweat, and tears into my art, they draw the line at mucous.

~~~~~

*the woodless pencils I use were made by Grumbacher, but I don’t believe they make them any longer — good thing I like to stock up when I find art goodies that I really like,….

